Posted by: westlancashirerecord | May 19, 2017

Meetings Bloody Meetings Latest

 The last two weeks have involved, amongst other things, work towards the Parliamentary Election on Thursday 8 June 2017, and the by-election for Aughton Park Ward on the same day. Preparation for the Annual Meeting of Council on Wednesday 17 May 2017, and Cabinet on Tuesday 13 June 2017 continued, and ambassadorial work to promote the Borough has been a key theme.

In addition, on Monday 8 May 2017, along with other members of the Corporate Management Team, I  attended the second session of the Leadership Programme for Managers, on change management. This was a very useful course, complemented by an excellent and extensive e-learning package. Thanks go to Sharon Lewis, Head of Human Resources and Organisational Development, and her team for their work in co-ordinating the commissioning and delivery of this programme. Particular thanks go to Gill Farrimond, Principal Human Resources and Learning and Development Officer, in this respect.

On Wednesday 10 May 2017 I held the regular Election Planning meeting with Terry Broderick, Borough Solicitor, Matthew Jones, Legal and Member Services Manager, Tom Lynan, Admin and Electoral Services Manager, and Susanne Malmgren, Senior Admin and Electoral Services Officer. The Parliamentary Election on 8 June, and by-election for Aughton Park Ward are the next events in the election calendar, with the verification and count taking place on Thursday 8 June into Friday 9 June at Burscough Sports Centre. Statements of the persons nominated for the Parliamentary Election and Aughton Park by-election can be found on the Council’s website, together with key dates.

Visiting the Ormskirk Medieval Weekend in Coronation Park on Sunday 14 May 2017, with my family, it was lovely to see so many people enjoying the activities and displays. Thanks to Anne Faulkner, Park Ranger, in particular and the team.

On Monday 15 May 2017, together with Terry Broderick, I was pleased to meet with Mr Martin Ainscough, Deputy Lieutenant, nominated by the Rt. Hon. Lord Shuttleworth, Bt., KG, KCVO, as the Lancashire Lieutenancy Local Authority Liaison Officer for West Lancashire. It was good to talk about all the excellent work going on in West Lancashire in the public, private and non-statutory sectors, and to discuss the opportunities for liaison going forward.

On Wednesday 17 May 2017, I was delighted to attend the 3rd Skelmersdale Ambassadors event, hosted by Edge Hill University in the Tech Hub. The focus of the event was on skills and training, and it was pleasing to see so many businesses attending to hear speakers from the Lancashire Enterprise Partnership, Skelmersdale businesses, SCA Hygiene Products Ltd and Solid Sheds, and the Council’s Strategic Planning section. The welcome pack for Skelmersdale Ambassadors was launched at this event, and thanks go to Paula Huber, our Economic Regeneration Manager and her team, and in particular to Lisa Ratican, Economic Regeneration Officer, Portia Taylor-Black, Economic Regeneration Support Officer, Tracey Shaw, Business Engagement Officer and Caroline Addison, Senior Economic Regeneration Officer, for their excellent work in supporting this initiative.

The Annual Meeting of Council was held on Wednesday 17 May, and Councillor Neil Furey   was elected as Mayor, and Councillor Noel Delaney as Deputy Mayor. The Mayor announced his charities for the year: 42nd Ormskirk (Skelmersdale St Paul’s) Scouts, The Sewing Rooms, Skelmersdale and Evermoor Hub, Skelmersdale. It was also nice to see the work of the outgoing Mayor recognised, including the sum raised in support of her charities.

Councillor Ian Moran was elected as Leader of the Council, and Councillor Yvonne Gagen as Deputy Leader. Councillor Moran announced his Cabinet as follows:
Leader – Also Portfolio Holder for Transformation and Economic Regeneration
Deputy Leader – Also Portfolio Holder for Leisure and Human Resources
Councillor Kevin Wright – Health and Community Safety
Councillor John Hodson – Planning
Councillor Jennifer Patterson – Housing and Landlord Services
Councillor Kevin Wilkie – Street Scene
Councillor Chris Wynn – Finance
Councillor Claire Cooper – Communities and Older People

The Leader has also appointed four champions – Councillor Devine for the Armed Forces, Councillor Cooper on Digital Inclusion, Councillor McKenna on Economic Regeneration and Councillor Cotterill on Innovations. Thanks go to Terry Broderick and his team for the work involved in the Annual Council meeting, with particular thanks to Jacky Denning, Assistant Member Services Manager, Ann England, Civic PA, Jill Ryan, Member Services/Civic Support Officer and Stephen Stephens, Mayor’s Chauffeur/Civic Officer.

On Thursday 18 May 2017, I held a further Election Planning meeting, and was pleased to chair the regular Corporate Health and Safety Committee.

Finally, on Friday 19 May 2017, it was lovely to be taken on a tour of the Chapel Gallery to see the improvement work that has been undertaken, and to hear about the further work that is planned. Thanks go to John Nelson, Deputy Director of Leisure and Wellbeing Services, and to Helen Juste, Arts Development Manager, and her team in particular.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: